A Hollywood ending for Yakamas’ wild horses?

19 10 2006

After reading about overpopulation issues, Janet Wainwright, with 18-year-old Cotton, persuaded the tribe to open its herd for adoption using “Flicka” to promote the program.

At last, a movie promotion tie-in which doesn’t involve acres of Burger King tat…Janet Wainwright, a Seattle-based publicist for 20th Century Fox, has persuaded the Yakama Nation (in the state of Washington) to allow surplus horses from their wild bands to be adopted by non-First Nations people for the first time. The tribe joined forces with 20th Century Fox to promote the film “Flicka“, about a teenager who adopts and bonds with a wild mustang. The Yakama Nation manages and protects about five thousand wild horses on its reservation in central Washington, but the overpopulated herd is disrupting the ecosystem, stamping out medicinal plants and food for deer and other animals. The Seattle Post-Intelligencer has a great article about the promotion here.
Yakama horses

The Yakama Nation manages more than 5,000 wild horses.

Actions

Information

8 responses

3 08 2008
Kateto

I`m Bulgarian and I Adore horses, too.
I can see what the situation is from here.Not exaclty, but I can.Wild horses will exsist only when we just take care for them and particularly for their natural habitat.I want more and more people to make some things about our favourite creatures.
Let`s think about their future!

Zashkeva, Katy
Bulgaria

3 08 2008
Kateto

I`m Bulgarian and I Adore horses, too.
I can see what the situation is from here.Not exaclty, but I can.Wild horses will exist only when we just take care for them and particularly for their natural habitat.I want more and more people to make some things about our favourite creatures.
Let`s think about their future!

Zashkeva, Katy
Bulgaria

24 08 2008
Jayme

hello my name is Jayme and i’m the owner of the anit horse slaughter online on StarPonyz.com and on Howrse.

27 05 2009
kris

I LOVE THOSE HORSES

5 09 2009
i luv horses .

I LUV HORSES .

5 09 2009
SAM.

I HATE HORSES

5 09 2009
ANDREA\

UM THEN DONT COME HERE

6 10 2009
Pete Booth Australia

one of my first ponies was a brumby.Smartest and best friend i ever had .

Say your bit

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

