Extreme makeover, horse edition

5 04 2007

Trainers from across America are invited to participate in the “Extreme Mustang Makeover”. Trainers will pick up the Mustangs at either the Fallon Facility in Nevada or the Paul’s Valley facility near Oklahoma City. They will have the Mustangs in training until Saturday, September 22, 2007. On that date trainers will compete with their Mustang for $25,000 in prize money at the Will Rogers Equestrian Center in Fort Worth, Texas. The trained Mustangs will be judged on conditioning, groundwork and a “Horse Course” which represents maneuvers and obstacles found in trail and recreational riding situations.All mustangs participating in the Makeover event will be available for adoption to the public on Sunday, September 23rd. Link

I dunno about this…but the mustangs will be worked with all summer, so it shouldn’t be a high-pressure situation. Anyone out there thinking of giving this a whirl?

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Actions

Information

6 responses

5 04 2007
barngoddess

how neat! I might have to check this out. Right now the BLM is adopting horses out in Claremore OK. I wish I could go, I wish even more I could adopt a Mustang…..they are wonderful equines.

5 04 2007
defrostindoors

Yes, I did think of you when I saw that. :) When I first read it I was afraid it’d be like what Monty Roberts did with Shy Boy, but now I see that the horses will be adopted in April or May and worked with for a few months.

7 04 2007
MiKael

this definitely isn’t up my alley but I know a couple of cowboys who could do a great job with this. They’d like nothing better that to start off with one that’s wild. Much better than one wrecked by a human.

25 04 2007
Tricia

Hello,

I have entered the contest..just got an email and they have received over 200 applications and they will make the final selection on may 8 …I am on pins and needles..can’t wait!!

Tricia in Texas

19 06 2007
Kathy

I have a friend participating and she is being careful not to rush or push her horse.. but the horse she has is fantastic! He’s HUGE,! He’s also confident without being pushy, and VERY curious.

22 06 2007
Dixie

Hi Everyone

I am participating in the Extreme Mustang Makeover.
There are 100 Mustangs and we all picked them up around June 6th to 9th.
They are all gelding 3 to 4 year olds.
I got my horse on the 6th he is 3 years old his name is Otter B Good .
He loves the water and likes to play with toys.

This is my web site and a few others.
Dixie

http://www.homestead.com/OTTERBGOOD
http://angismustang.blogspot.com
http://emm-jtjedi.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

