Fawning over visitors

25 01 2007

Did you see these pics when they were doing the rounds awhile back? Of course, the whole set wound up on Cute Overload:

Fawned

Well, if you like that, you’ll love this:

In June, a doe gave birth to her fawn in our barnyard. The two coyotes, mother and son, zeroed in on the fawn. The doe put up a horrendous fight to protect her fawn by driving off the coyotes, but she was losing the battle because one coyote would divert her attention while the other would circle back to the barnyard.

In moved our old mare to help. She stood guard over the fawn until the doe was able to drive off both coyotes. The doe seemed to accept Bonnie’s attention to her fawn. When the fawn finally slipped through the fence to follow her mother, Bonnie nickered over the fence for a long time.

The rest of the story, with another pic.

Btw, I thought long and hard about including the second story, as it’s part of the Animal Liberation Front site; please do not consider this link to be an endorsement of their tactics. Maybe it’s just the ski masks making me nervous, I dunno. 😕 I did think I owed it to my reader readers to mention it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 01 2007
riderone

Oh. My. God. That’s sooooo cute!!!! That’s the dangdest freakin’ cutest picture EVer! It makes me want to jump up and down on the bed and shout!

25 01 2007
timethief

I’ve seen exactly the same scenario happen here. My two geldings stood guard over twin fawns last spring while their mother eluded dogs chasing her. My husband intervened and the dogs were no more.

Say your bit

